This article contains affiliate links. Reading SFF may receive a commission for purchases made through these links.
The Cosmere Universe Book Series in Order (with Elantris, Mistborn, Stormlight Archive, Warbreaker)

The Cosmere Universe Book Series in Order (with Elantris, Mistborn, Stormlight Archive, Warbreaker)

  • by

The Cosmere universe is where many of Brandon Sanderson books take place. Those stories all share a single cosmology and underlying rules of magic, and some characters from one world will make appearances on other worlds. There is no reference to Earth, as our dear planet is not in the cosmere.

It all begun a long time ago, when Adonalsium, the power of creation, has been broken into sixteen pieces called Shards in an event known as the Shattering of Adonalsium.

When a person holds a Shard, that person is imbued with its power, but also becomes the Shard, being warped by its intent. With consciousness to direct them, many of the Shards began to invest their magic and influence in certain planets or people.

The Cosmere universe is still expanding, so we don’t have a definite reading order yet. There is three ways to read it:

  • The sequential order: the way advised by Brandon Sanderson. He adds it doesn’t matter which Cosmere series you start with.
  • The publication order
  • The chronological order

The Cosmere Reading Order by Series

Elantris (set in Sel)

Elantris was built on magic and it thrived. But then the magic began to fade and Elantris began to rot. And now its shattered citizens face domination by a powerful Imperium motivated by dogged religious views. Can a young Princess unite the people of Elantris, rediscover the lost magic and lead a rebellion against the imperial zealots?

The Emperor’s Soul is set in the same world in which Elantris is set, though few connections are made to that book within The Emperor’s Soul, which can then also serve as en entry point in Cosmere.

Mistborn Series

Mistborn Series by Brandon Sanderson Reading Order

Era 1: Mistorn Trilogy original

A half-skaa thief named Kelsier discovers that he is Mistborn and escapes the Pits of Hathsin, a brutal prison camp of the Lord Ruler. He returns to Luthadel, the capital city of the Final Empire, where he rounds up his old thieving crew for a new job: to overthrow the Final Empire by stealing its treasury and collapsing its economy.

Era 2: Wax and Wayne

Waxillium Ladrian is a descendant of Breeze and former lawman who returns from the Roughs to assume leadership of his house in the wake of his uncle’s passing. Wayne is his formidable partner and old friend. The two of them are Twinborn, with both one Allomantic power and one Feruchemical power.


Warbreaker reading Order by Brandon Sanderson

The story of two sisters, who happen to be princesses, the God King one of them has to marry, the lesser god who doesn’t like his job, and the immortal who’s still trying to undo the mistakes he made hundreds of years ago.

Stormlight Archive

The Stormlight Archive Series by Brandon Sanderson Reading Order

On a world scoured down to the rock by terrifying hurricanes that blow through every few day a young spearman forced into the army of a Shardbearer, led to war against an enemy he doesn’t understand and doesn’t really want to fight.

Whitesand (Graphic Novel)

On the planet of Taldain, the legendary Sand Masters harness arcane powers to manipulate sand in spectacular ways. But when they are slaughtered in a sinister conspiracy, the weakest of their number, Kenton, believes himself to be the only survivor. With enemies closing in on all sides, Kenton forges an unlikely partnership with Khriss — a mysterious Darksider who hides secrets of her own.


Shadows For Silence in the Forests of Hell (2013) – Novella available in Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection.
→ Buy from: Amazon, BookDepository, Wordery

Sixth of the Dusk (2014) – Novella available in Arcanum Unbounded: The Cosmere Collection.
→ Buy from: Amazon, BookDepository, Wordery

Cosmere Symbol

The Cosmere Universe in Publication Order

Cosmere Symbol

The Cosmere Universe in Chronological Order

The Cosmere Universe by (still in progress) chronological order.

Share Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *